Hot Desking (aka Hoteling)

Tips on how to setup hotdesking.

Hot Desking (often referred to as Hoteling) allows multiple users to utilize a single device or allows users to sit at different physical seats and accept phone calls on the device in front of them.

Important

  • Devices that are to be used for hotdesking should not be created to belong to a specific user. 
  • Devices that are to be used for hotdesking should have feature sync disabled as this will cause routing problems.  
 
The overrides to disable feature sync are as follows:
  • Yealink devices:
    bw.feature_key_sync="0"
  • Polycom devices:
    voIpProt.SIP.serverFeatureControl.cf="0"
    voIpProt.SIP.serverFeatureControl.dnd="0"
    voIpProt.SIP.serverFeatureControl.localProcessing.dnd="0"
  • In order to receive calls at the shared workspace, the user must activate the device. In so doing, the device is then associated with them.
  • Once the device is activated their calls are automatically routed to the device and call statistics will follow them as well.

Setup

You will need to set up User Accounts for each of your physical users, as well as User Accounts for the physical phone location. Remember the phone that will be used in Hotdesking should not belong to a specific person.

Example Extensions
User Extension
John Doe 100
Jane Doe 101
Receptionist Phone 200

In the scenario above 100, and 101 should NOT have Phone Extensions (only User Extensions). 200 Should have a User and Phone Extension. Users 100 and 101 will be logging in and out of Extension 200.

Hotdesking

There are three steps in Hotdesking on the platform, Logging In sets up the forward and assumes ownership. Logging out consist of two steps, Unforwarding and Relinquishing Ownership.

Logging In

To log in to a physical extension, John Doe needs to activate Hotdesking.

  • From phone extension 200, John Doe will dial *44.
  • He will be asked to Enter his Account Number (100)
  • He will be asked to Enter Password followed by Pound.
  • The current device owner will be announced, and he will be prompted by pressing 2 to take ownership of the device.
  • If he presses 2 and assumes ownership of Device 200, there will be a confirmation, stating the new device owner and also stating that Forwarding to 200 has been activated.

Logging Out

Logging out is a two-step process because the Switch forwards calls to that Extension, and associates the device to the Extension

  • From Extension 200, John Doe will dial *45 to remove forwarding (removing the forward from the answering rules or dialing *73 can also be used).
  • There will be a confirmation message that forwarding has been disabled
  • From Extension 200, John Doe will dial *46 to relinquish ownership of Extension 200.
  • He will be asked for his Voicemail Password followed by the Pound Key.

At this point, the next user is ready to log in to phone extension 200.

What if a user forgot to remove Call Forwarding before logging out?

Calls to that user will still be forwarded to that extension until forwarding is removed. The user can log back into the phone and remove the call forwarding, or forwarding can be removed in the user portal under their Answering rules.

What if a user forgot to log out of the phone before the next person logs in?

Calls to the user will still be forwarded to that extension until ownership is removed. Ownership can also be removed by having another user login to that extension. 

The user will also be moved if they log into another extension.

How to Route to a Hot Desking User

You will simply route to the Hotdesking User (not user device) that will be hotdesking. Unanswered calls will go to their voicemail if they aren't active on a phone.

My Phone Extension got deleted when hotdesking

Remember. our best practice recommendation is that you do NOT have any extensions associated with your users who will be hot desking. 

However, It actually didn't get deleted by the system. A User can only own one device at a time. When 100 logged into device 200, the system dropped ownership for its own device (100). If 100 logs back into to their extension 100 phone, extension 100 will reappear in the portal.

How does the Forward answering rule work?

The Forward answering rule will always take place on the active Answering Rule.

Our recommendation is to use as few answering rules as possible when a user activates Hotdesking, it will apply to their Active answering rule. The deactivate call forwarding (*45) will also apply to their active answering rule. Therefore if the answering rule changes between the time that the user logs in, and un-forwards/logs-out there will be an issue with their answering rules until corrected manually (via the portal).